Payment activity & privacy

Table of Contents

Privacy is a big concern with technology. We put you in control so that you can decide who can see your SendCrypto payments and purchases. Make sure your Dapp is updated to the newest version to see our latest privacy controls

What each privacy setting means:

Friends only: The transaction will only be shared with your SendCrypto friends and with the other participant’s SendCrypto friends

Private: We will not share the transaction anywhere other than in the personal transactions feed under the “Me” tab. If it’s a payment to another user, the recipient will also see this activity in their app

What information about a payment is shared with the sender or recipient?  

The payment amount, payment note, names of sender/recipient, and timestamp of the payment are available to each individual involved in the payment.  ONLY the sender of the payment has access to the payment method used, and personal details (for example wallet address, Debit card detils etc.). The recipient will NEVER see this information

 What payment information is visible on the public feed when I share payments with friends? 

When a payment is shared, the payment note, names of sender/recipient, and timestamp of the payment will be visible on the public feed.  ONLY the sender and recipient have access to the payment amount.  ONLY the sender of the payment has access to the payment method used

 How does sharing payments work? 

– You can set the privacy setting on a payment or purchase on an individual basis. If you don’t want to change the privacy setting every time you make a payment, you can change your default privacy setting. Your future payments will automatically default to your preference, but you can adjust this before completing the payment. See instructions below on how to change your privacy setting
– When you transact with someone else on SendCrypto, including payouts from merchants or payments with business profiles, the more restrictive privacy setting between the two of you will be honored. If you have your payments set to Private but your friend has their payments set to Public, a payment between the two of you will be set to Private
– Purchases made using your SEND Debit Card, and purchases from merchants when you pay with SendCrypto are Private by default, but you can change the privacy setting on any purchase to share them
-All of your transactions, regardless of privacy setting, will still be visible in your personal transactions feed under the “Me” tab so that you have a transaction record

Changing the Privacy Setting for an Individual Payment or Purchase

You can set the privacy setting for each individual payment or purchase, right from the payment or purchase itself. Just select or tap on the privacy setting in any payment or purchase and select your preferred setting

Changing Your Default Privacy Setting

You can set up your SendCrypto account so that the privacy setting for all future payments is automatically set to your preference (remember, you can change the privacy setting for an individual payment by following the above steps, no matter what your default privacy setting is) If you’re on the SendCrypto Dapp, go to the “Profile”, tap the “privacy setting”, tap “Social feed,” then under “Default Privacy Setting” select your preferred default privacy setting Keep in mind, when you pay or request money from someone else on SendCrypto, the more restrictive privacy setting between the two of you will always be honored

Commenting on Transactions

You can keep the story going by commenting on your friends’ payment activities. In order to comment on a payment, you need to be friends on SendCrypto.

Was this article helpful?
YesNo

Have more questions? Submit a request